Default Header Banner

CE & Events


QUICK LINKS

MN & WI: Classroom Education 

MN: Online Education 

WI: Online Education

MN: Real Estate Prelicense Education 

WI: Real Estate Prelicense Education

MN: Review your CE Transcript 

*MN Department of Commerce Site 
**WI Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS)


*In Minnesota, the Department of Commerce administers license application and renewal programs for real estate salespersons and brokers and real property appraisers. 
**In Wisconsin, the Department of Safety and Professional Services administers license applications and renewal programs for real estate salespersons and brokers and real property appraisers.

WE’RE HERE TO HELP!

Modules? Credits? Licensing Cycles? Figuring out what you need can get confusing but we’ve got your back. Give us a call at (218) 728-5676 and we will work with you to create a continuing education plan that will work best for you. 

REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS (Minnesota &  Wisconsin)

Minnesota Licensee

In each two year licensing cycle (July1-June30), all real estate brokers and salespersons must complete: 

  • A MINIMUM of 15 total credit hours in the first year and the REMAINDER of a total of 30 total credits hours by the end of the licensing cycle.
  • One credit hour approved for fair housing instruction
  • One credit hour approved for agency instruction
  • ANNUAL specific module training course(s):

2017-2018 Required Module

Agency, Fair Housing, and Special Entities Authority- 3.75 credit hours

The broker-only 1-hour module requirement is included in this general module; therefore there is no separate broker-only course.

The 2017 / 2018 module WILL satisfy the required 1-hour of Fair Housing or the required 1-hour of Agency Law requirement.

 

2016-2017 Required Module

Residential Contracts – 3.75 credit hours

The broker-only 1-hour module requirement is included in this general module; therefore there is no separate broker-only course.

The 2016 / 2017 module does NOT satisfy the required 1-hour of Fair Housing or the required 1-hour of Agency Law requirement.

New Minnesota Licensee

New licensees must complete the following by June 30th of their first FULL licensed year (July 1-June 30). 

A MINIMUM of 30 total credit hours.

One credit hour approved for fair housing instruction.

One credit hour approved for agency instruction.

Specific module training course(s) for their first full year:

 

2017-2017 Required Module

Agency, Fair Housing, and Special Entities Authority- 3.75 credit hours

The broker-only 1-hour module requirement is included in this general module; therefore there is no separate broker-only course.

The 2017 / 2018 module WILL satisfy the required 1-hour of Fair Housing or the required 1-hour of Agency Law requirement.

Continuing education requirements are due by June 30th of each year. Course providers may take up to 10 business days to upload your course completions so it is best to complete all your requirements by June 15th to avoid potential licensing issues. 

You are allowed to take all 30 required hours through online education, but you may not take more than 8 hours in one day. 


Review Your Minnesota Continuing Education Course Completions

You can review the courses you have completed by going to PulsePortal.com

  • Under Choose and Program, select Minnesota Department of Commerce.
  • Under Choose a Board, select real estate.
  • Under Search/Inquiry Services select Review your CE Transcript.
  • Enter your Last Name, Real Estate License number (just the numbers) and your social security number.

We suggest periodically saving a copy of your record, especially after you have completed all your requirements. If you are missing any classes, contact the provider of the continuing education.

Wisconsin Licensee

In each two year licensing cycle (December 15-December 14), all real estate brokers and salespersons must complete: 

18-hours of continuing education (6 courses, 3 hours each)- see mandatory and elective courses below.

Some courses may qualify for Minnesota license credit, but you will need to check with your course provider to verify.

2017-18 Continuing Education Courses

Mandatory courses (all four required)

Course 1: Wisconsin Listing Contracts
Course 2: Wisconsin Offers to Purchase
Course 3: Wisconsin New Developments 
Course 4: Ethics and Best Practices*
* Includes the NAR Code of Ethics requirements.

Wisconsin Renewal Requirements

*Information provided by the WI DSPS https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/RESalesperson/Default.aspx

Please Note: A person who was issued/granted their original or initial salesperson license is now required to satisfy the continuing education requirement during the biennium in which the person receives that license, except that a person who was issued/granted their original or initial salesperson license after October 1, of an even year, is not required to satisfy the continuing education requirement and is exempt for that one renewal cycle only.

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • HRS (Hours of Continuing Education - see Continuing Education Information for details.  If renewing via paper form #2920 is also required.
  • SIG (Signature regarding previous arrests/convictions/ and pending charges.  Depending upon your answer, you may need to complete form #2252, submit all requested documents as well as the $8 background check (CIB) fee.) 
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.
Elective courses (two required)

Elective A: New Construction
Elective B: Wisconsin Investment Property and Property Management
Elective C: Financing
Elective D: Other Wisconsin-approved Forms  

 


4031 Grand Avenue
Duluth, MN 55807